Menu Overview

When you successfully log on to txGradebook, you are redirected to the Announcements page. The page displays various pieces of information:

      Your district name and campus name are displayed in the upper-right corner. If you currently teach courses at more than one campus, click drop-down arrow to select which campus to view.

      The main menu provides access to all areas of txGradebook.

      Your ID and name are displayed on the right side of the main menu. If you teach at multiple campuses, and if your name happens to be entered differently at each campus (e.g., if your first name is entered as James at one campus and Jim at another campus), your name is displayed as it is entered at the campus you are currently viewing. In most cases, your name should be entered the same at all campuses.

      The logout link is displayed to the right of your ID.

      The submenu is displayed below the main menu when you mouse over a main menu item. The submenu provides links to the pages and functions within the main menu areas.

      The Help button question mark icon is displayed on the right side of the submenu.

      District and campus announcements are displayed below the submenu. The announcements, which may contain important deadlines and information, are entered by the district and campus. Always check the announcements for new information.

      To return to this page after you log on, select Announcements from the Home menu.

The navigation tools listed above are displayed at the top of every page in txGradebook.

Access a page:

1.        From the menu bar, mouse over the menu name (e.g., Attendance) to display the contents of the menu. The submenu is displayed below the main menu.

2.        From the submenu, select the menu item. A page for the selected menu item is displayed.

3.        You cannot return to a page by clicking your browser's Back button. To return to a page, you must re-select it from the menu.

If you are a long-term substitute teacher:

In the Select a teacher to substitute for field, click drop-down arrow to select the teacher for whom you are substitute teaching, and then click Select Teacher. Then, proceed to use txGradebook as if you were the teacher. This field is only displayed if you are logged on as a teacher for whom a long-term substitute teacher has been assigned.

To select another teacher for whom to substitute, you must log out of txGradebook, and then log on as the next teacher and select the next teacher from this drop down.

Note:

·       You can only access the Update Profile page before you select a teacher. Once you have selected a teacher, the Update Profile page is no longer available.

·       Only teachers for which an administrator has assigned you as the substitute will be listed in the drop down, and only if the current date falls within the date range specified.

·       As a long-term substitute, you can maintain and print any data that the teacher would be able to access.

·       When a long-term substitute marks grades as ready to post, the teacher’s name is reflected.

·       When a long-term substitute posts attendance, the teacher’s name is reflected.

·       When a long-term substitute enters a discipline referral, the substitute’s name is reflected.

Return to the previous page:

You cannot return to a page by clicking your browser's Back button. To return to a page, you must re-select it from the menu.

Access Help:

On the right side of the submenu, click question mark icon. The Help window opens.

In the Help window, the Help topic is displayed on the right. The Help topic is specific to the page you are viewing. The navigation pane is displayed on the left, which allows you to browse other Help topics from this Help window.

Keep your session active:

If your session is idle for a specified amount of time (i.e., you are logged on but you have not made any changes that have hit the server), your session becomes inactive. This is a security measure designed to limit access to the system if you are unexpectedly called away from your computer. The time limit for idle sessions is set by the district.

Prior to becoming inactive, a warning message is displayed to let you know that your session will be ending soon.

      To keep the session active, click Reset Timeout. The session timeout counter starts over, and you will not lose data on the page.

      To allow the session to expire, do not type or click on the page. A short time later, your session will time out and the page is automatically redirected to the Login page.

Warning:

Any data that was not saved when the session expired will be lost.

Log out:

The logout link is displayed to the right of your user ID. When you click the logout link, you are logged out of txGradebook and redirected to the Login page. You can also click to log out.

      Any data that is not saved will be lost when you log out.

      After you log out, you cannot use the browser's Back button to return to the last page you visited. You must log into txGradebook again to view the page.

      If you close the browser (either click the browser's close button or select Close from the File menu), you are logged out of txGradebook.