Course Grouping

Settings > Course Grouping

The Course Grouping page allows you to group courses by semester. This allows you to enter grades, administer categories and assignments, and copy categories and assignments for multiple sections at the same time, without having to switch from section to section.

You must group your courses at the beginning of the semester before any categories are added.

Once you have grouped the courses, all categories and assignments for the courses will match. The courses will be displayed as grouped on the following pages:

      Grades > Assignment Grades

      Grades > IPR Comments

      Grades > Print IPR

      Reports > Class Roster Report Selection

      Settings > Administer Assignments

      Settings > Administer Assignments > Copy Assignments

      Settings > Administer Categories

      Settings > Administer Categories > Copy Categories

The following courses cannot be added to a group:

      A standards-based/skills-referenced or elementary skills-based course. Only category-based courses can be grouped.

      A course that does not exist in the selected semester.

      A course that has already been added to another group, either for the current instructor or a prior instructor. The message "Exists in another group" will be displayed next to the course under Ineligible Courses.

      A course that has any categories already set up. The message "Already has categories" will be displayed next to the course under Ineligible Courses.

      A course that has any students who are in another course already added to the group.

      A course that is self paced.

The following restrictions also apply:

      A course cannot be added to a group if the group has any categories already set up.

      If the course-section is part of a group, and the instructor for a course changes during the year, the new instructor will not be able to add the course to a group. The message "Exists in another group" will be displayed next to the course under Ineligible Courses.

In order to resolve this issue so that the new instructor can add the course to a group, a txGradebook administrator must delete the course from the original instructor's group. The administrative user must do the following:

o      Log on to txGradebook and impersonate the new instructor.

o      While impersonating the new instructor, go to Settings > Administer Courses page. Select the course section, and then click X delete button to delete the course from the group. Repeat for all applicable courses.

o      Click Save.

      You must be the class role 01 teacher (i.e., Teacher of Record) for the course in order to add the course to your group. Class role 02 and 03 teachers for the course cannot add the course to a group.

Note:

If the class role 01 teacher becomes unavailable (e.g., long-term leave), and a class role 02 or 03 teacher becomes responsible for the class, the courses must be ungrouped (i.e., the course must be deleted from the group). Otherwise, the class role 02 or 03 teacher will not be able to add any additional assignments for the class. If the class role 01 teacher is unable to ungroup her courses before leaving, an administrator can ungroup the courses.

Group courses:

1.        In the Semester field, click drop-down arrow to select the semester for which you want to group courses.

2.        To add a new group:

      Under Available Course Group (left) in the Name field, type a group name. You cannot use the same name for more than one group.

      Click Add Group. Under Course Group Detail (right) in the Group field, the new group name is displayed.

      Under Available Courses, valid courses that can be added to the group are listed. Click for each course you want to add to the group. The course is moved to the Grouped Courses list. Continue adding courses as needed.

Note:

Under Ineligible Courses, any courses that cannot be added to the group (due to reasons described above on this page) are listed. An explanation of the course's ineligibility is displayed next to the course.

      To delete a course from the group, click X delete button under Del.

      Click Save to save the course group.

3.        To edit a group:

Under Available Course Groups (left), your existing groups are displayed. The number of courses currently added to the group is displayed under Course Count.

To add or delete courses in an existing group, click spyglass under Edit. The details for the group are displayed on the right under Course Group Detail. Courses are listed in three columns:

      Grouped Courses are all the courses currently added to the selected group.

      Available Courses are all the valid courses that can be added to the group.

      Ineligible Courses are all of your courses that cannot be added to the group for reasons described above.

      Add or delete courses in the group as described above.

4.        To delete a group, click X delete button under Edit (left) for the group you want to delete. A message is displayed prompting you to confirm that you want to delete the group. Click OK to continue.

A group can only be deleted if the Course Count is 0.